In 1807 John Scandrett Harford bought land across Kings Weston Road from
Blaise House and commissioned John Nash and George Repton, the fourth and
youngest son of Humphy Repton, to design a hamlet for his old retainers when they
retired. Nine cottages were built between 1810 and 1812 and each is unique, some
thatched and some with slate roofs. The hamlet was acquired by the National
Trust in 1943, although the cottages themselves are all still occupied.